Avatar photo


Author Bio ▼

Adam Bannister is a contributor to IFSEC Global, having been in the role of Editor from 2014 through to November 2019. Adam also had stints as a journalist at cybersecurity publication, The Daily Swig, and as Managing Editor at Dynamis Online Media Group.
October 7, 2019


Lithium-Ion batteries. A guide to the fire risk that isn’t going away but can be managed

Finalists revealed for the inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards

The finalists of the inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) have been announced.

The awards seek to champion exemplars in tackling economic crime – whether companies, individuals or specific initiatives.

“The response we have received to the first-ever TECAs has been outstanding,” said Professor Martin Gill, founder of the TECAs. “This is a sector-wide initiative designed to create a level playing field. The judges are nominated by the associations and agree to mark to an ethics policy. That is why winning is so valued.”

The winners will be announced at a black-tie awards ceremony on Monday 9 December at the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane. A drinks reception and three-course gala dinner will also provide networking opportunities for attendees.

The headline sponsor is Altia-ABM, which supplies covert and intelligence management systems to UK police forces. Cifas, a not-for-profit organisation working to reduce and prevent fraud and financial crime, has sponsored the menu/programme.

Find out more about attending the awards ceremony. Here are some details on the judging criteria. See the list of judges here and view the finalists below.

Outstanding Manager or Director

  • Mike Brown – Direct Line Group
  • Gemma Pezzack – V12 Retail Finance
  • Denis Rice – Royal Mail
  • Simon York – Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC

Outstanding Team

  • Barclays Financial Intelligence Unit
  • The DCPCU (Dedicated Card & Payment Crime Unit)
  • Direct Line Group Counter Fraud Intelligence Team
  • National Trading Standards Scams Team
  • North East Regional Asset Recovery Team
  • Operation Gauntlet – North Yorkshire County Council Trading Standards
  • Profession Team, Government Counter Fraud Profession, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise
  • Veritau Limited
  • West Yorkshire Financial Exploitation and Abuse Team

Outstanding Consultant

  • Graydon Business Intelligence Unit Company – Graydon UK
  • PwC Financial Crime Team
  • Stuart Underwood – Nationwide Building Society

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

  • Karen McNeil – Department for Work and Pensions, Counter Fraud, Compliance and Debt
  • Pop-Up Solicitors/Umbrella Firms – DWF Law LLP
  • Cyber and Economic Crime Awareness Service – Greater Manchester Police
  • Julian Watts, Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley
  • London Digital Security Centre – Police Digital Security Centre

Outstanding Training Initiative

  • City of London Police Economic Crime Academy
  • HMRC Criminal Justice Academy
  • Stephanie Ogunjimi – Lloyds Banking Group
  • Interview Advisers – Serious Fraud Office
  • James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office
  • Veritau Limited

Outstanding New Product

  • Graydon Detect – Graydon UK
  • Halo – Insafe International Limited
  • Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley
  • The Paybase Risk Suite – Paybase

Outstanding Partnership

  • Bank Signature Forgery Campaign & All-Party Parliamentary Group on Fair Business Banking
  • Charity Commission for England & Wales and Fraud Advisory Panel
  • Hertfordshire Shared Anti-Fraud Service
  • Insurace Fraud Prevention Partnership – Hastings Direct & BAE Systems
  • Rehabilitation Validation Project – Aviva & DWF Law LLP
  • Midlands Fraud Forum
  • National Fraud Initiative – Synectics Solutions & QBE
  • Nationwide Branch & Support Team
  • Statutory Accounting and Corporate Structure Fraud Project Team – Companies House, Cabinet Office & HMRC

Outstanding Investigator

  • Ryan Andrews – HMRC
  • Robert Byrne – Serious Fraud Office
  • Steven Carter – South East Regional Organised Crime Unit
  • DC Chris Collins – Metropolitan Police Service
  • Angela Harvey, Chris Hargreaves, Ian Terry, Richard Grant – West Yorkshire Police
  • DC Tania Harnor – ERSOU – Cybercrime
  • Ben Hobbs – City of London Police, DCPCU
  • DC Adele Shallcross – Avon & Somerset Constabulary
  • Surrey Police and South East Regional Organised Crime Unit (Cyber)
  • Kelly Williams – Barclays Bank

Outstanding Young Professional

  • Chelsea Baron – Coop Insurance
  • Sean Flynn – City of London Police – DCPCU
  • Dianne Hunt – West Mercia Police
  • Dave Laramy – Capital One UK
  • Jessica Lightowler – British Council
  • Chris Phillips – V12 Retail Finance Limited
  • Susan Webb – PwC
  • Joshua Young – Yorkshire Building Society

Outstanding Female Professional

  • Linda Avan, Senior Intelligence Investigator – DWF Law LLP
  • Claire Jenkins FCCA, Integrity & Enforcement Unit – Companies House
  • Sarah Keeling – StoneTurn
  • Debra Linge – Lloyds Banking Group
  • Jo Marshall – Nationwide Building Society
  • DC Tara Owens – Metropolitan Police Service
  • Helen Seed – HM Revenue & Customs
  • Narinder Shergill – Serious Fraud Office
  • Rachael Tiffen – Cifas
  • Dr Justine Walker – UK Finance

Outstanding Male Professional

  • Russell Chinn – City of London Police, DCPCU
  • James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

  • The ALP Team, Combating OAP Fraud – The WoS Group
  • Barclays Approach to Human Trafficking
  • Tony Blake and Real Consequences Training Video – UK Finance
  • James Freedman – Love Variety
  • HMRC Anti Money Laundering Supervision – Estate Agency Businesses Week of Action
  • Merseyside Police
  • Tony Murray – City of London Police
  • Samantha Street, Investment Scams Initiative – Grant Thornton UK LLP
  • Santander UK
  • Scotland Fraud Focus – DWF Law LLP

Lifetime Achievement winner – to be revealed during the awards ceremony


Related Topics

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments