Editor, IFSEC Global

Author Bio ▼

James Moore is the Editor of IFSEC Global, the leading online publication for security and fire news in the industry. James writes, commissions, edits and produces content for IFSEC Global, including articles, breaking news stories and exclusive industry reports. He liaises and speaks with leading industry figures, vendors and associations to ensure security and fire professionals remain abreast of all the latest developments in the sector.
July 16, 2020

Sign up to free email newsletters


DOWNLOAD: Top tips for beginning an ID badge or access card programme


New Level 3 Fire Detection and Alarm Systems qualification launched by the FIA

The Fire Industry Association (FIA) has launched its new Level 3 qualification on BS 5839-6, “FIA AO Fundamentals of Fire Detection and Alarm Systems in Domestic Premises.”


The new OFQUAL recognised qualification has been carefully designed to deliver a great introduction to a key part of the Fire Detection & Alarm (FD&A) sector.

British Standard, BS 5839-6:2019 provides detailed recommendations for fire detection and fire alarm systems in all domestic premises, addressing both new-build and existing properties. The standard includes a large amount of detail on all aspects relating to the design, installation, commissioning and maintenance of these systems.

The new update to BS 5839-6 came into effect in April 2019 and is intended for use by architects and other building professionals, enforcing authorities, installers and others responsible for implementing fire precautions in domestic premises.

The FIA’s new BS 5839-6 course is a one-day unit designed to give delegates a strong grounding in the requirements of BS 5839-6, which is essential for anyone working in FD&A in domestic premises.

To take the new Level 3 qualification, delegates must have taken and passed both Unit 1 and 2 of the FIA’s BS 5839-1 Fundamentals of Fire Detection and Alarm Systems in Non-Domestic Premises.

Being qualified to Level 3 is a widely accepted way to demonstrate competency in the FD&A. As a result, FIA Awarding Organisation’s Fundamentals qualification has been developed to Level 3 and registered on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), equivalent to a Level 4 on the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

The first courses start on August 5th and August the 12th 2020.

Free download: Fire Safety Guide

Know your fire safety responsibilities.

Business owners have many responsibilities, but the consequences of neglecting your fire safety responsibilities are potentially unthinkable.

Download this guide to get:

  • A beginner’s guide to the Regulatory Reform Fire Safety Order
  • Your guide to fire risk assessments
  • Further guides covering fire doors, fire alarm systems, smoke detectors, fire escape signs, sprinklers, water-mist systems and fire safety training

Related Topics

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments