Avatar photo

Assistant editor, IFSEC Global

July 10, 2019

Sign up to free email newsletters


The Video Surveillance Report 2022

Women in Security awards

SSAIB will host 2019 Women in Security awards

It was announced at IFSEC 2019 that SSAIB, a security certification company, will be the 2019 host for the Women in Security awards on 12 September 2019.

The Women in Security Awards recognise and honour the accomplishments, value and contributions of women within the wider world of security.

Alex Carmichael (left) and Roy Cooper

SSAIB chief executive Alec Carmichael welcomed a diverse audience from every branch of the private security industry to the SSAIB stand at IFSEC 2019.

This included SSAIB Chairman Geoff Tate, previous WiS host and chief executive of NSI Richard Jenkins, past winners and judges, and managing director of Professional Security magazine, Roy Cooper, who is also founder of the awards.


Chairs and Chief Executives of leading professional organisations within the security industry are selected to be judges. This includes:

  • The Association of Security Consultants.
  •  ASIS UK Chapter.
  • The British Security Industry Association (BSIA).
  • The Fire and Security Association (FSA).
  • The International Professional Security Association (IPSA).
  • The National Security Inspectorate (NSI).
  • The Security Industry Authority (SIA).
  • The Security Institute.
  • The Security Systems and Alarms Inspection Board (SSAIB).
  • The Worshipful Company of Security Professionals.

Roy Cooper explained that judges will focus on two factors when deciding which entree should take an award from the five categories. These two factors are: how has the nominee contributed to the wider community of the security industry and how have they exceeded their typical job spec?


Managing Directors and Security Professionals working withing a security department of a commercial organisation or a business public sector, are all encouraged to be nominated for one of the five categories of the award. The five categories are:

  • Security Manager
  • Front-line
  • Business Manager
  • Technical
  • Contribution to Industry

2018 winners

The winners of the WiS awards in 2018 were:

  • Manager Award: Lisa Corbridge of Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Technical Award: Angela King of Advanced Access
  • Frontline Award, Emma Threlfall of Axis Security
  • Contribution to Industry Award: Pauline Norstrom of NetVu

Nominations for the 2019 awards must be entered by 9 August 2019, and winners will be announced on 12 September 2019, at a black-tie event on the Dixie Queen ship along the River Thames.

Do you have a nomination in mind? Learn more here.

Keep up with the wireless access control market

Download this free report to find out more about:

  • The current state of wireless access control solutions in the market
  • The developing ‘move to mobile access control’ trend
  • Views on open architecture and integration
  • The growing use of the cloud and ACaaS to manage access systems
  • How important is sustainability to the industry?

Related Topics

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments